I know Borax has been around for years, but apparently I never noticed because I just recently discovered the stuff. It has so many wonderful uses, and is so CHEAP! Borax, also known as sodium borate, is an a naturally occurring substance. The product is named after the 20-mule teams that were used by William Tell Coleman‘s company to move borax out of Death Valley, California, to the nearest rail spur between 1883 and 1889. Here are just a sample of uses.

1. Pest control (sprinkle it around floorboards to control insects and even mice!) Also on mattress for bedbugs.

2. Mix with warm water or vinegar for a superior cleaning agent.

3. Remove rust by mixing it with a little lemon juice.

4. Deodorize your cats litter box by mixing a couple of tablespoons with the litter.

5. Make your own laundry soap (1 cup borax, 1 cup Arm & Hammer washing soda, a bar of grated Ivory soap). Add hot water to equal 32 ounces. Stir well over medium heat until soap is completely dissolved. Allow to cool and pour into old plastic jugs. This stuff works AWESOME and comes out to only five cents a load! Please note: Shake well before each load. Mixture will not be thick like store bought laundry soap.

6. Cure some types of mange on your pet. Mix 3 equal parts water, apple cider vinegar, and Borax. Put into a spray bottle and saturate your pet while brushing it into fur. Keep it on until the animal is dry to the touch, Rinse and condition with a good oatmeal based conditioning soap. I’m told that this will not harm your dog if they lick it, but to be on the safe side, I usually take him for a walk to distract him while the solution is drying.

If you do a quick search on Google you will be amazed at all the uses for this stuff!

3 responses

  1. Ginny Foust says:

    I wasn’t aware of how many uses Borax has. I know it was great for laundry, but not about the other uses. I really like the one for removing rust. We have very hard water and the tub is always getting rust stains around the drain. I will definitely give it a try. Thanks for the tip.

  2. I generally use sodium bicarbonate but borax is probably better for stronger stains?!

  3. Heather says:

    I am going to try this version of laudry detergent when my Naptha version is gone. Thanks!