This is an experimental garden my husband and I decided to give a try.  My husband made a frame out of scrap wood and hung adjustable fluorescent lights from the top. This way we could raise them as the plants grow.

We are overwhelmed with how quickly the plants took off. Some of the tomatoes that were started February 2nd are already over 3 feet tall. All seed is certified organic. We even had great success with saving the seed from a grocery store organic green bell pepper. I just dried the seeds for a week or so in our cool, dry  family room and packed them in a zip-lock bag.

Some of the pepper plants are already producing; with cherry sized peppers on them. They are very cool to see in April!

We made our own potting medium by mixing equal parts organic peat moss and top soil with a little organic manure.

Old ice cream buckets, coffee cans, and 3 gallon pails were used for our containers. They all were given lots of drainage holes.

Although we are very impressed with how well the plants grew and became established, we are uneasy about how much they will actually produce. The weather really needs to cooperate with us so we can get these suckers in the ground! Natural sunlight, warm soil, and room to grow is what they need now.

6 responses

  1. Ginny Foust says:

    That is such a good idea. Looks like they love it. I hope the weather warms up enough to get them in the ground before they go through the ceiling. I see no reason they won’t produce just fine.

  2. Karl says:

    You’ll be amazed at how much stuff these will produce. Our experiments with containers did way better than I would have thought.

  3. I am trying to do the same thing! How did you make the lighting? That’s what I’m struggling with right now. I’ve pretty much discovered the same stuff as you other than that.

    • The lighting was hung with heavy duty string. My husband made loops in the string so that it could be raised as plants grew. The loops hang on screws attached to the wooden frame. Thanks for the inquery, and I hope to check out your blog later today!

  4. renovatedsilverladysailor says:

    I would love to have a small lettuce, tomatoe and strawberry garden year round in my basement! Any advice? Thanks!

    • I think lettuce would do great under fluorescent lights! Most strawberries send out runners so would need a huge area… and tomatoes? Well ours are taking over, and I want my dining room back!