I started juicing about two years ago after watching a documentary called “The Gerson Therapy.” The Gerson Therapy regenerates the body to health, supporting each important metabolic requirement by flooding the body with nutrients from about 15- 20 pounds of organically grown fruits and vegetables daily. Most is used to make fresh raw juice, up to one glass every hour, up to 13 times per day.

Although extraordinary claims are made in the documentary, it seemed beneficial for better over all health at the very least.

13 glasses a day was to extreme for me considering the cost of good organic produce and the amount of preparation time it takes to juice. Not to mention the exertion it takes to clean the juicer afterwards!

I invested in a fairly decent juicer because the type of juicer that you use DOES matter. Masticating Juicers use a single gear or auger that literally chews fruit and vegetable fibers and breaks up the plant cells, resulting in more enzymes, vitamins and trace minerals. Masticating juicers are generally more efficient than Centrifugal juicers because they can extract more juice from the same amount of food (i.e. the pulp comes out dryer).

After consuming my first glass of carrot-apple juice, I was hooked! Not only is it delicious, but I literally felt a rush. Almost like a double espresso without the jitters and headaches. I have tried an assortment of fruits and vegetables in my juicer, and carrot-apple remains my most wanted.

It is wise to choose organic produce whenever possible. However, some produce is worse than others. Pesticide loaded ones include:

Celery

Spinach

Kale

Collard Greens

Lettuce

Carrots

Cucumber (not as bad if you peel the skin)

Strawberries

Grapes

Make only as much juice as you can drink at one time because fresh squeezed juice can quickly develop harmful bacteria.

Please do not throw out the pulp! The pulp is great for making healthy muffins, cakes, veggie burgers, soup stock, composting, or even rabbit food!

My juicer came with a pasta nozzle also. I once made some healthy pasta using spinach juice and wheat flour, but will not be doing that again anytime soon because of the sticky mess involved. (You can probably tell that I’m not a big fan of cleaning.)

Juicing remains a small luxury that I accustom myself with at least once a week, and more often when I can get a respectable bargain on organic super-foods.

8 responses

  1. Hey, Createit! I have been juicing and drinking green vegetable juice for 12 years, one 6-10 ounce glass pretty much every morning. My sons as well. I make 4 quarts at a time, and they stay good for 4-5 days IF you fill the jars to the top and there is no air in the jar. That means, you either use a quart that morning, or the remainder goes in a smaller jar filled to the lid. Use clean, good Ball jars and lids. If you are interested, I’ll give you the recipe. I use a twin gear that pulverizes the vegetables, and the gears are self-sharpening. I have used it every week for ten years. I went through three centrifugal juicers before I found this one. Happy juicing!

  2. I would love the recipe. Maybe I will invest in some good jars. I think that if I could make more than 6-8 ounces at a time, I would juice more often!

  3. virginia foust says:

    i will be juicing more this summer thanks to a larger garden. the rush is incredible and it does help with losing pounds.

  4. evdeerly says:

    I’ve always wanted to try juicing. Do the juices freeze well?

  5. slowborg says:

    I juice my leftover produce once a week before I go to the markets. I love it! I have one of those Brevilles that can fit a whole apple. The cleanup is annoying! I hope to one day invest in a great quality one.
    I was once told by a juice bar owner that 60% of the nutrients in fresh juice evaporate after 10 mins so it can’t be kept if we want all the nutrients. I don’t know if it’s the case but I will now research this!

  6. knittinpeace says:

    I just started juicing in eary april. We juice at least once a day. We chose a breville. I didn’t want to spend a whole bunch of money before finding out whether or not we’d stay cimmitted.
    I recommend a recipe called green lemonade. Google it. I use lime instead of lemon and it is yummy!

  7. Anonymous says:

    I am definitely going to explore this – Thanks for all the great info!