“There’s something like a line of gold thread running through a man’s words when he talks to his daughter, and gradually over the years it gets to be long enough for you to pick up in your hands and weave into a cloth that feels like love itself.” ~John Gregory Brown, Decorations in a Ruined Cemetery, 1994

My husband and father to our children:

My husband is a very seasoned do-it-yourselfer. Through times of financial hardship, I have seen him come through for our family more times than I can count. He has an innate ability to make old things new, and is one of the hardest workers I have ever seen. His tough exterior houses a gentle soul that is not shamed in the very least by soothing a crying baby, changing a diaper, washing the dishes, stroking a kitten, or cooking a meal. His noble mechanical abilities has saved our family thousands of dollars. Repairing the vehicles, doing household maintenance himself, and taking on the brutally hard work of supplying our home with firewood to keep us toasty in the winter months.

He has helped our kids with little things such as a math problem or a skinned knee, all the way to life decisions such as career and mate choices. He is certainly an example for fathers who think there job is done after an eight hour shift at work.

“My father used to play with my brother and me in the yard. Mother would come out and say, ‘You’re tearing up the grass.’ ‘We’re not raising grass,’ Dad would reply. ‘We’re raising boys.'”
~ Harmon Killebrew

My father:

When I was a child my father was the biggest, strongest, and smartest man alive. If something was broken, dad would fix it. If something needed doing, dad would do it. If my heart needed mending, dad was there to cheer me up.

The truth is…not all that much has changed. I still look to my father as a pillar of strength, and a genius of sorts. I have seen the things he can do.

I have inherited the parts of him that make me wonder and ponder all the things I think others won’t or can’t understand. He instills a quiet confidence in me that helps me to believe in myself and the things I can do.

I look at his hands and think of all the amazing things he has built. A jack-of-all-trades. The indispensable handy-man. I have seen him create solutions to problems that would cause others to panic.

My dad is not only a fabricator but a designer. Not only a laborer but an engineer. He not only looks at the “how to” but also the “why and why not.” My dad has not only been a craftsman, but also a firefighter, electrician, locksmith, and leader to crews of apprentice workers in a handful or two of other fields.

There were times in my teenage years that our relationship suffered. An explosive combination of divorce, alcohol, and the most wickedly rebellious young girl you can imagine.

I now view the past as an enormous period for growth and evolution.

“My past has not defined me, destroyed me, deterred me, or defeated me; it has only strengthened me.”
― Steve Mariboli (author)

Although we are currently facing new trials of a different sort (Health), I believe the sustainability of our relationship gives us both the courage and willpower to overcome many of the fears and obstacles lying in wait.

My dad is my hero and he always will be.

My father-in-law:

My father in law was a frugal and industrious man. He raised five children on a shoe-string budget and all whilst instilling the qualities needed for leaving a legacy of love and the importance of family.

I consider him a master gardener and his love of all things that grow has truly altered my life in such a positive way. He taught me so much about growing everything from common houseplants, to finicky orchids and everything in between. He showed me how to preserve and can food and left me with numerous tips on natural remedies for common ailments as well as not so common tips on everything else.

He had a gentle way about him that could make even the shyest person in the room feel comfortable and at ease. He played the piano with talented calloused fingers and created and composed some of his own music. He did things from scratch and worked hard his whole life. His code of moral ethics has been passed on to his children and his grandchildren.

“Sometimes the poorest man leaves his children the richest inheritance.” ~Ruth E. Renkel

Happy Father’s Day.

5 responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    great job!i normally start my day off with a laugh or 2, but today it is tears!

  2. That was just beautiful, thanks!

  3. slowborg says:

    Beautiful post full of love and respect, I really enjoyed this personal tribute x

  4. Alyssa says:

    I have nominated you for The Lovely Blog Award! It’s OK if you do not accept this award, but I nominated you because I really like you blog. Visit my recent post http://southern-wild.com/2012/06/18/they-just-keep-rolling-in/ if you do decide to accept this award, and nominate 15 or so fellow bloggers!